Graduated driving licences: 'The crash was down to inexperience'

admin

Administrator
Staff member
I notice the article says she was driving fast but within the speed limit, almost as if it makes it ok. As a instructor I always teach drive according to conditions, speed limits are limits and not targets. Especially in rural areas there are many many areas you shouldn’t be anywhere near the speed limit for the road conditions.

It wouldn’t happen if people drive more carefully with respect for the roads.

How about This, teach them properly? Make a night lesson and things compulsory. With the cost of learning already it's ridiculous that it's not included. No don't put restrictions on new drivers! Half are only driving as public transport is awful!

I passed my test 3 months ago, I use my car for my work as well as to take my son to school, this is a heartbreaking story but these restrictions could have really negative results for families and communities. Also, I am gobsmacked by how many dangerous actions are carried out by experienced drivers on a daily basis, taxi and bus drivers included. Over- confidence can be just as dangerous, any proposed restrictions for them?

"This wouldn't have occurred if graduated driving licences were in place in the UK."

A tragic accident which, however, had nothing to do with her inexperience in my eyes. Most drivers, regardless of how long they've had their licence don't adapt to the road and wheather conditions but see speed limits as targets